Finance for Tomorrow structures its governance


One year after its launch, Finance for Tomorrow structures its governance and elects a new Board, which illustrate the mobilisation of Paris on green & sustainable finance

June 4th, 2018 – One year after its launch, the Finance for Tomorrow Initiative currently includes 56 members and 6 international observers. It gathers committed actors, within Paris EUROPLACE, in order for the Paris Financial Center to become the international point of reference on green and sustainable finance.
After a first transitional year to establish the initiative, Finance for Tomorrow has structured its governance bodies. The aim was to ensure both a broader representation of the different categories of actors, and to mobilize its members produce concrete contributions. This process has led to the organization of an election for the Presidency and the Board for the 2018-2020 period.
On June 1st, Paris EUROPLACE Steering Committee validated the results permitting to reappoint Philippe Zaouati as Chair and to constitute a renewed and diversified Board composed of 15 members, 7 of which are elected (see the list below).
The new Board of Finance for Tomorrow symbolises the shifts in the French financial sector through its diversity, through the fact that it represents all of the stakeholders, including civil society, and through the seniority of the elected members within their companies and organisations. Held for the first time, the elections were a resounding success both in terms of quantity and quality of the 19 applications submitted. This keen showing demonstrates the interest of the players of the Paris Financial Center for green and sustainable finance, which is now a key priority for economic actors.

Looking forward, drawing on its firsts successes and the ambition shown by its members, Finance for Tomorrow begins a second stage, in line with its original objectives:

  • Develop training and education in the field of sustainable finance and support research projects aiming to make Paris a center of excellence in this area,
  • Launch key projects to develop Fintechs for Green, integrating environmental and social factors,
  • Further discussions with the French public authorities in order to define an ambitious roadmap, and weigh on European debates by creating strong partnerships with other financial marketplaces,
  • Make Paris the meeting place for players in the sector by attracting international events and establishing its flagship event, Climate Finance Day, as one of the milestone annual events of the financial sector at the international level,
  • And, lastly, promote the Finance for Tomorrow brand as a symbol of the modernity and responsibility efforts of the Paris Financial Center.


Composition of the Board for the 2018-2020 period

The new Board takes office for the period 2018-2020. It is composed of 15 members, including the President and the Director, 4 members-by-right, 7 elected members and 2 members co-opted by Paris EUROPLACE:

  • Philippe Zaouati, Chair of Finance for Tomorrow, CEO of Mirova,
  • Anne-Claire Roux, Managing Director, Finance for Tomorrow.

7 members were elected from 5 bodies representatives of the Paris Financial Center ecosystem:

  • Banks:
    • Marine de Bazelaire, Head of Sustainability HSBC Continental Europe & Head of Sustainable Development HSBC France
    • Tanguy Claquin, Head of Sustainable Banking, Crédit Agricole CIB
  • Companies:
    • Bernard Descreux, Head of the Asset Management division, EDF
    • Anne Chassagnette, Chief Sustainability Officer, ENGIE
  • Institutional Investors & Insurance companies:
    • Sophie Elkrief, Managing Director, Investment Management, MAIF
  • Asset management Companies:
    • Fabrice Dumonteil, Chair & CEO, Eiffel Investment Group
  • Civil society, NGOs, Think-Tank, Consultants & others:
    • Pascal Canfin, CEO, WWF France

2 qualified members were co-opted by Paris EUROPLACE:

  • Pierre Ducret, Special Advisor for Climate Change, Caisse des Dépôts Group, & Chairman, I4CE – Co-author of the report « French strategy for Green Finance »
  • Daniel Roy, Chairman, La Banque Postale AM

The Board is also composed of 4 members-by-right, from

  • Ministry for the Economy & Finance, represented by Jean Boissinot, Director of Financial Stability,
  • Ministry for the Ecological and Solidarity Transition, represented by Pascal Dupuis, Head of Department at the Commissioner-General for Sustainable Development (CGDD),
  • Banque de France, represented by Laurent Clerc, Director of Financial Stability,
  • Paris EUROPLACE represented by Arnaud de Bresson, CEO.


Download the Press Release – “Finance for Tomorrow structures its governance” here